Flood Maps

March 25, 2006

Flood Maps

Interesting, if rather blocky mashup of Google Maps and NASA topographical data, apparently, letting you dial in various levels of sea level rise (annoyingly in 1 metre increments). Also seems to be a bit inaccurate, but it gives you an idea…

This sort of follows on from my comments about climate change in the Poetics of Place post.

Looks like my house is good up to 14m of sea level rise! Come back in 2100 and we’ll have a beach party in my garden…

Update, 4/5/06: Andrew Brown over at Where is AB? has also posted about this.

One Response to “Flood Maps”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Andrew Brown kindly posted this comment:–

    Great! I look forward to the beach party – unfortunately, I’ll have to leave my house by an upstairs window, and remember my snorkel…

    Which I then accidentally deleted when trying to approve it. Doh. Sorry, Andrew.


Leave a Reply

